Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

Change of Mailing Address

To receive property tax correspondence, it is important to ensure that your address is correct.   Wheatland County sources property ownership and mailing address information from Alberta Land Titles Office and the Certificate of Title. It is the property owners’ responsibility to ensure their Land Title record is accurate and up to date.

To update your address, please complete a Change of Address Form and mail the original signed copy to the Land Titles Office.

Land Titles Office Mailing Address:
Land Titles Office
Box 7575
Calgary, AB, T2P 2R4

Street Address: 710 4th Ave. S.W., Calgary
Phone: (403) 297-6511

To obtain a Change of Address Form:

  • Online: Visit http://servicealberta.ca/pdf/ltmanual/CHANGE_OF_ADDRESS.pdf. Please complete the form and email it to tax@wheatlandcounty.ca. Ensure the original form is mailed to the Land Titles Office with appropriate payment or your address change will not be processed.
  • Visit the Wheatland County Administration Office to fill out the form in person. Staff may assist in filling the form for up to 5 rolls per property. Owners with large volumes or more complex changes may consider using a lawyer (or related professional services) for assistance.

Due to the delay in processing at the Land Titles Office, Wheatland County will accept a copy of the Change of Address Form directly from ratepayers.  Wheatland County will update the property owner’s address in anticipation of receiving the finalized registration from the Land Titles Office.

Need help filling out the form? View our SAMPLE FORM here.

If you do not receive your tax notice by mid-May, please contact the Wheatland County Administration Office.

  • Taxes are due June 30th and late penalties are applied July 1st.
  • Non-receipt of your property tax bill does not exempt you from late payment penalties.
  • Under the Municipal Government Act, Section 337, a tax notice is deemed to have been received seven days after it is sent.

Property Tax Penalties

The Alberta Government introduced a Property Tax Late Penalty Reimbursement. If you recently purchased property, did not receive a tax notice, and paid a late payment penalty, you may be eligible for reimbursement. You are still responsible for ensuring your outstanding property tax is paid in full. The Government of Alberta will not reimburse additional late penalties incurred for non-payment.

For more information, click here

How your Tax Bill is Calculated

Each year, Wheatland County Council approves the budget required to support Wheatland services. From this amount, sources of revenue other than property tax, such as license fees, permits, and provincial grants, are subtracted. The balance is the amount raised by property taxes. In order to calculate property tax, rates have to be established. The tax rates reflect the amount of taxes to be paid for every $1,000 of assessed value. The Province of Alberta also establishes a tax rate based on the revenue it requires from property tax. There is a $25 minimum property tax amount per roll number. Seniors Property Tax Deferral is available for non-residential properties. More information is available at https://www.alberta.ca/seniors-property-tax-deferral-program.aspx.

Tax Rate TAble - Tax Rate IS PER $1,000 for ASsessment Class
Machinery and Equipment
Tax Year 2024 2023 2022 2024 2023 2022 2024 2023 2022 2024 2023 2022
Wheatland County 2.9175 3.1451 3.4159 13.4821 13.0883 12.7659 7.7455 8.1289 8.6174 7.7455 8.1289 8.6174
Wheatland Housing 0.1021 0.0947 0.0743 0.1021 0.0947 0.0743 0.1021 0.0947 0.0743 0.1021 0.0947 0.0743
Education** 2.3661 2.3267 2.5651 2.3661 2.3267 2.5651 3.6203 3.5571 3.8712 N/A N/A N/A
Total Tax Rate 5.3857 5.5665 6.0553 15.9503 15.5097 15.4053 11.4679 11.7807 12.5629 7.8476 8.2236 8.6917
Designated Industrial Property Levy N/A N/A N/A 0.0765 0.0746 0.0766 0.0765 0.0746 0.0766 0.0765 0.0746 0.0766
Total for Designated Industrial Property N/A N/A N/A 16.0268 15.5843 15.4819 11.5444 11.8553 12.6395 7.9241 8.2982 8.7683

Property Tax Estimator

Important Dates

Your Property Tax Bill covers the period from January 1 to December 31 annually. A combined Tax and Assessment notice is mailed typically in April with a due date of June 30. Failure to receive a tax notice does not exempt you from a penalty after the due date. A 5% penalty is added to any unpaid balance after June 30, and if not paid by November 30 another 5% penalty is applied. Taxes can be paid at the County office, at your bank, or through online banking.

Payment Methods

Check your Roll Number

The property tax roll number is linked to the property – not the owner. Especially when paying through the bank, confirm the roll number you have registered with your bank matches your most recent notice before making payment via branch, ATM, online or telephone banking. If you misapply a payment to your old property or to an invalid roll number, notify our office immediately. Incorrectly applied payments may result in a late payment penalty if the property taxes remain unpaid past the due date. Wheatland County is not responsible for errors and/or omissions. 

Own more than one property?

Owners of multiple properties need to register and make payment to each roll number separately. If you’ve recently sold a property, you may want to remove the account from your bill payment profile to ensure you do not accidentally use it.

School Support

Some areas within Wheatland County have separate school education available. If your property is within one of these areas, you may choose which education system you would like your school taxes to support. The School Declaration Form is also available at the County office. We must receive these declarations before December 31 in order to change the school support declaration for the following year. Please contact Property Tax Clerk if you have any questions or concerns.

Education Property Tax

Wheatland County is required by legislation to bill and collect school taxes on behalf of the Provincial government. While the County bills and collects school taxes, the County has no jurisdiction or control over school board budgets or operations. According to the Municipal Government Act, the County is required to include the education amounts on property tax bills.

Each year the province calculates the amount that each municipality must contribute towards the public education system. The calculation is based on a formula that includes the amount of assessment in each municipality.

For more information on education funding, contact Government of Alberta Education Property Tax line at (780) 422-7125 or toll-free by dialing (403) 310-0000.

Property Assessment

Property assessments are used to calculate the property tax amount. Learn more about the assessment process and how to submit a complaint.

Have a question?

Back to top