



- Council appointed Councillor Amber Link as Wheatland County's Reeve for the 2023-2024 term
- Council appointed Councillor Scott Klassen as Wheatland County's Deputy Reeve for the 2023-2024 term.
- Council appointed representation and alternate representation to committees and boards for the 2023- 2024 term (see attached Committee List).
- Council directed Administration to schedule an Open House in January of 2024, to be held at a location in Division 4.
- Council directed Administration to schedule an Open House in June or July of 2024, to be held at a location in Division 2.
- Council approved to appoint the following as the signing authorities for Wheatland County: Reeve Amber Link; Deputy Reeve Scott Klassen; Chief Administrative Officer; General Manager of Corporate and Financial Services; Manager of Financial Services.
- Council appointed MNP LLP as the financial statement auditor for the 2023 fiscal year.
- Council accepted the Intermunicipal Development Plan (IDP) & Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF) list, as presented.
- Council directed Administration to advertise for a member-at-large position with the Wheatland Housing Management Body and bring back to a future Council Meeting for an in-camera session.
- Council approved Division 3 and Division 7 member appointments to the Subdivision and Development Appeal Board for a 3-year term expiring October 31, 2026.
- Council approved Division 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, and 7 member appointments to the Community Enhancement Regional Board for a term commencing November 1, 2023 and expiring October 31, 2025.
- Council approved for Wheatland County Council to attend the Rural Municipalities of Alberta (RMA) 2024
 Conventions:
 - o Spring Convention on March 18-20, 2024, in Edmonton.
 - o Fall Convention on November 4-7, 2024, in Edmonton.
- Council approved for Wheatland County Council to attend the 2024 Federation of Canadian Municipalities (FCM) Convention in Calgary, Alberta from June 6th to June 9th, 2024.
- Council authorized the members of the Agricultural Service Board to attend EITHER:
 - The 2024 Provincial Agricultural Service Board Conference, taking place from January 22 to 24, 2024, in Lethbridge.

OR

The 2024 Crossroad Convention (FarmTech), taking place from January 29 to 31, 2024, in Calgary.

To watch the meeting, head over to our YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCRJrvIsOeygNM7zERLnviOg?view_as=subscriber



2023/2024 Committees & Boards

Reeve - Amber Link Deputy Reeve - Scott Klassen

County Committees and Boards	# of Councillors	Laprise (1)	Link (2)	Biggar (3)	Ikert (4)	Klassen (5)	Koester (6)	Laursen (7)
Agricultural Service Board (See Bylaw 2019-29)	7	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Alus Partnership Committee (Members Appointed – ASB Organizational Meeting)	1							
Bursary & Environmental Stewardship Award (Members Appointed – ASB Organizational Meeting)	2							
Pest Control Appeal Committee (Res. CM 2021-11-45)				Appointed Members				
Weed Control Appeal Panel (Res. CM 2021-11-45)				Appointed Members				
Soil Conservation Appeal Committee (Res. CM-2021-11-46)				Appointed Members				
Subdivision and Development Appeal Board (SDAB) (Bylaw 2019-10)				Appointed Members				
Regional Assessment Review Board (ARB) (Bylaw 2021-28)				Appointed Members				
Community Enhancement Regional Board Resolution Org - 2022-10-48				Appointed Members				
Emergency Management Committee (See Bylaw 2013-13)	2		Х			Х		
Municipal Planning Commission (Bylaw 2022-26)	7	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х
Public Presentation Committee (See Bylaw 2022-23)	7	Х	х	х	х	Х	Х	Х

Strategic Plan: Pillar 3 - Strategic Partnership

Strategy 1: Intermunicipal Development Plan (IDP)

5									
Partners	# of Councillors	Laprise (1)	Link (2)	Biggar (3)	lkert (4)	Klassen (5)	Koester (6)	Laursen (7)	
<u>Drumheller</u>	2		Χ			Α		Χ	
<u>Foothills</u>	2		Χ	Х		Α			
<u>Hussar</u>	2		Χ			Α		Χ	
<u>Kneehill</u>	2		Α				Х	Х	
<u>Newell</u>	2	Х	Α					Χ	
Rocky View	2			Α	Χ	Χ			
<u>Rockyford</u>	2		Χ			Α	Χ		
Siksika	2		Χ	Α		Х			
Special Area No. 2	2		Χ			Α		Χ	
<u>Standard</u>	2	Х	Х			Α			
Strathmore	4	Α	Χ	Χ	Χ	Χ			
<u>Vulcan</u>	2		Х	Х		Α			

Strategy 1: Intermunicipal Collaboration Framework (ICF)									
Dankaran	# of	Laprise	Link	Biggar	Ikert	Klassen	Koester	Laursen	
Partners	Councillors	(1)	(2)	(3)	(4)	(5)	(6)	(7)	
<u>Drumheller</u>	2		Х			Α		Χ	
<u>Foothills</u>	2		Χ	Χ		Α			
<u>Hussar</u>	2		Χ			Α		Χ	
<u>Kneehill</u>	2		Α				Χ	Χ	
<u>Newell</u>	2	Χ	Α					Χ	
Rocky View	2			Α	Χ	Х			
<u>Rockyford</u>	2		Χ			Α	Χ		
Siksika	2		Χ	Α		Х			
Special Area No. 2	2		Χ			Α		Χ	
<u>Standard</u>	2	Χ	Χ			Α			
Strathmore	4	Α	Χ	Х	Χ	Χ			
<u>Vulcan</u>	2		Х	Х		Α			

Strategy 2: Regional Partnerships									
Boards & Agencies	# of Councillors	Laprise (1)	Link (2)	Biggar (3)	lkert (4)	Klassen (5)	Koester (6)	Laursen (7)	
Marigold Library Committee	1			Х				Α	
Wheatland Family & Community Support Services Committee (W.F.C.S.S.)	2	Х		Х	А				
Wheatland Housing Management Body	3	Х						Х	
Wheatland Regional Corporation	2				Х	Х		Α	

Strategy 3: Subregional Partnerships									
Villages, Towns, Siksika	# of Councillors	Laprise (1)	Link (2)	Biggar (3)	Ikert (4)	Klassen (5)	Koester (6)	Laursen (7)	
Addictions Resource Coalition of Strathmore and Wheatland (ARC)	1			Х				А	
Alberta Care_	1					Х			
Canadian Badlands LTD.	1			Х					
Community Futures Wild Rose	1		Х	Α					
<u>Drumheller & District Solid Waste Management</u> <u>Association (DDSWMA)</u>	1					Х		А	
Rural Fire Associations				Local Councillor					
Seed Plants (Strathmore, Hussar, Rosebud)				Local Councillor					
Southern Alberta Energy-From-Waste Association (SAEWA)	1				А	Х			
Strathmore and District AG Society	1				Х	Α			
Strathmore Wheatland Chamber of Commerce	1	А		Х					
Wheatland and Adjacent Districts Emergency Medical Services Association (W.A.D.E.M.S.A.)	2				А	Х		Х	
Wheatland Regional Partnership Committee	7	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	Х	