Where There’s Room to Grow

County Council

Boards and Committees

About Boards & Committees

The County's boards and committees play an important role in the operations of Wheatland County. Unlike Council, members of these bodies are appointed, not elected. Some of the boards and committees require members to meet specific qualifications, such as residency in the County, or have a specific area of expertise. But while each body differs in its area of responsibility and requirements for appointment, they all have one common requirement: they depend on citizens willing to serve their municipality.

Council Committees

Council representatives sitting on boards and committees affiliated with Wheatland County are appointed at the annual organizational meeting. Appointments to boards and committees can vary from one to three years. View the Committee Organizational Chart to see the current roster of committee members. Council members also represent their divisions as regional IDPs and ICFs representatives.

Council creates council committees and appoints committee members. Council may decide to create a temporary committee to look at a specific issue. There may also be standing committees. Standing committees run from year to year to deal with ongoing issues. 

Committees can play a bigger role in making decisions on issues for council. If council wants a committee to make decisions, council may delegate some of its powers to the committee. If a committee makes a decision delegated to it by council, it is then as if the council made the decision itself. Some council decisions, such as passing bylaws or adopting the budget, cannot be delegated.

Section 145 of the Municipal Government Act authorizes council to pass bylaws in relation to the following:

  1. the establishment and functions of council committees and other bodies;
  2. the procedure and conduct of council, council committees and other bodies established by the council, the conduct of councillors and the conduct of members of council ?committees and other bodies established by the council. 1994 cM-26.1 s145 ?88

Section 146 of the Municipal Government Act refers to the composition of council committees stating that a council committee may consist

  1. entirely of councillors,
  2. of a combination of councillors and other persons, or
  3. subject to section 154(2), entirely of persons who are not councillors.

Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

April 7, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting
April 10, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Good Friday
April 13, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Easter Monday