Where There’s Room to Grow

County Council

Policies and Bylaws


Wheatland County has a number of policies which outline how the County conducts its business, actions and services.



Wheatland County Bylaws are set by County Council, and are unique to this municipality.

Section 7 of the Municipal Government Act (MGA) sets out the general jurisdiction to pass bylaws. Council may pass a bylaw to govern the affairs within the council (the procedural bylaw) and bylaws that govern within the municipality.

A municipal by-law is no different than any other law of the land, and can be enforced with penalties; challenged in court; and must comply with higher levels of law. Municipal bylaws are often enforceable through the public justice system, and offenders can be charged with a criminal offence for breach of a bylaw. 

See below for a complete list of Wheatland County bylaws:



Contact Us

Wheatland County
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

December 19, 2017
9:00 AM -
MPC meeting
December 19, 2017
11:00 AM -
Council meeting
December 25, 2017
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Offices closed, Christmas vacation