Skip to content Skip to main navigation Skip to footer

While planning for your development, subdivision, or redesignation projects, you may wish or need to refer to some existing documents. As well, depending on the size or complexity of your project, you may need to develop some of the below documents.

Regional Growth Management Strategy

The Regional Growth Management Strategy (RGMS) is similar to the MDP, but looks forward to 40 years. The RGMS explores growth, infrastructure, municipal services, economic, and environmental impacts. It examines where and how the County should grow; how growth will effect the natural environment; and what impact growth will have on infrastructure. Using this information, this document outlines how decisions regarding planning and development within Wheatland County will be made. 

Intermunicipal Development Plans (IDPs)

IDPs are agreements between two or more municipalities, which outline how planning and development decisions will be made, where they affect both sides of the boundary lines. Each IDP must include the lands along the boundary of both municipalities, the exact area of which is agreed upon by both municipalities. The IDPs themselves must address a series of planning and development topics including environmental matters, development application circulation, and how municipalities will resolve conflicts.

Municipal Development Plan

The Municipal Development Plan (MDP) is the primary land use planning and community development guiding document, and is required for all municipalities with a population of more than 3,500. The MDP sets the vision, sustainability principles, goals, and policies for Wheatland County. It guides many of Council’s major decisions, particularly those that will impact us for more than 20 years. The current MDP can be viewed here.

The Wheatland County Municipal Development Plan (MDP) was approved by Council in 2013 to provide the County with a vision for 30 years. Today, six years later, the County wants to ensure the vision, policies and objectives within the MDP are being met and remain relevant, through a comprehensive review and update.

The “MDP Review” process will include a significant public engagement process to provide multiple opportunities for County residents and stakeholders to participate and share their ideas. Read more…

Area Structure Plans

Area Structure Plans (ASPs) are documents that are approved by Council as bylaws. The documents are used by the County when evaluating planning or development applications within the specific areas. If your land is located in an area where there is an existing ASP, you will want to be familiar with the document. If your proposed project is large or complex, a new ASP may be required.

Land Use Bylaw

The Land Use Bylaw is a statutory document that regulates the use and development of land within the County. If you are planning on any development, subdivision, or redesignation on your land within Wheatland County, you should be familiar with this document. 

Area Concept Plans

Area Concept Plans are guidelines for the redesignation, subdivision and development of an area of land. You may be required to include one with your application, as they help to paint a picture of what the project will look like when completed.

Direct Control Districts

A Direct Control District provides a land use designation for parcels that, because of unique characteristics or innovative design, requires specific regulations unavailable in other land use districts. DCs have specific sets of rules and regulations that apply to the parcel of land designated to that DC District. In the case of discretionary uses in a DC, unless otherwise stated within a specific DC, Council is the authority on rendering a decision on those uses and variance requests.

South Saskatchewan Regional Plan

The South Saskatchewan Regional Plan (SSRP) is an Alberta Land-Use Framework Integrated Plan that sets out an approach to manage our province’s land and natural resources. The Land-Use Framework sets out seven new land-use regions and calls for the development of a regional plan for each. Wheatland County is required to align with the SSRP Framework.

Municipal Government Act

The Municipal Government Act (MGA) is the legislation that helps to define how municipalities must function and operate.

Back to top