Where There’s Room to Grow


Acceptable Materials

Site-Approved Materials
For general disposable and non-disposable materials, see below.

Disposable Materials
Materials which can be disposed of if they are sorted and handled in an approved manner:

  • Agricultural chemical containers (empty and rinsed)
    • Where collection facilities are located: Strathmore, Standard and Hussar
  • Appliances containing refrigerants
  • Batteries (certain types only)
  • Cardboard
  • Clean wood, tree branches
    • Where burning pits are located: Carseland, Gleichen, Rockyford and Standard
    • CleanFARMS 
  • Electronic Waste (computers, business machines, etc.)
  • Empty plastic oil containers
  • Expired propane or refrigerant tanks
  • Furniture
  • Household appliances
  • Household waste if bagged or boxed and treated or painted lumber (under four feet in length)
  • Paint in the original cans
  • Scrap metal (as per Calgary Metals Policy)
  • Surgical blades or syringe needles (Rockyford, Strathmore, Hussar and Gleichen sites only)
  • Tires
  • Used and drained oil filters
  • Used oil (Strathmore, Rockyford, and Carseland sites only)
  • Wire (must be rolled or bundled and tied

For more information regarding acceptable materials, the availability of bin space, or any other information about the waste transfer facilities, individuals are asked to call their respective sites. Wheatland County residents are also encouraged to call their local site attendant before loading large, heavy, or questionable items or simply to avoid the inconvenience of a particular service not being available at a certain time (e.g., if a bin is too full). Residents may also call the County Administration Office at 403-934-3321 for general information or if a problem should arise.

Non-Disposable Materials
The following materials will not be accepted at any Wheatland County waste transfer site

  • Asphalt shingles
  • Biochemical or infectious waste
  • Commercial / industrial waste (residential waste only)
  • Dead animal carcasses
  • Demolition Waste
  • Drywall
  • Flammable materials
  • Grain, hay or straw
  • Gravel, rocks, concrete, or rubble
  • Hazardous chemicals
    • Please be aware that these chemicals may be disposed of at “Hazardous Waste Round-ups” held each year at Standard and Rockyford
  • Sewage or sludges
  • Vehicle bodies

If your waste is unacceptable at the county waste transfer sites contact the Drumheller and District Solid Waste Management Association at 403-823-1345

Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

July 2, 2018
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Canada Day holiday (in lieu of July 1)
July 3, 2018
9:00 AM -
Council Meeting
July 4, 2018
9:00 AM -
ASB meeting