Where There’s Room to Grow


Property Taxes


Tax Rate Bylaws

Annual Tax Insert

Property Tax Bill
Your Property Tax Bill covers the period from January 1 to December 31 annually. A combined Tax and Assessment notice is mailed in April with a due date of June 30. Failure to receive a tax notice does not exempt you from penalty after the due date. A 5% penalty is added to any unpaid balance after June 30, and if not paid by November 30 another 5% penalty is applied. Taxes can be paid at the County office, at your bank, or through online banking.

If paying your Tax Notice through online banking, make sure to select "Wheatland County Taxes" and enter your Roll number when prompted for an account. 

Online Banking Payments
Not sure how to set up your online banking payments? Read more...

Property Tax Installment Payment Plan (TIPP)
The Tax Instalment Payment Plan (TIPP) program starts in January and runs through December for the current tax year. Properties on TIPPs and in good standing, are exempt from penalty. All previous levies must be paid in full to begin on the TIPP program. Payments are made by automatic withdrawal from your bank account the first of every month. You can join the plan until May 1, provided the missed monthly payments and a small late filing fee are paid. The Tax Installment Payment Plan (TIPP) Form is also available at the County office. For more information, contact our Property Tax Clerk.

We also have an Auto Payment Option available for ratepayers who are too late to sign up for the TIPP program or have tax arrears on property. contact the Property Tax Clerk. for more information.

Change of Mailing Address
To ensure that you receive notices from Wheatland County, please be sure the Provincial Land Titles Office has your correct mailing address recorded on the Certificate of Title. Send any change of mailing address along with the legal land description of your property shown on your tax bill to Land Titles.

Alberta Government Services 
Calgary Land Titles Office 
Box 7575 
Calgary, AB, T2P 2R4 

Street Address: 710 4th Ave. S.W., Calgary
Phone: (403) 297-6511
Fax: (403) 297-8641
Email: lto@gov.ab.ca 

You can access their change of address form here.

School Support
Some areas within Wheatland County have separate school education available. If your property is within one of these areas, you may choose which education system you would like your school taxes to support. The School Declaration Form is also available at the County office. We must receive these declarations before December 31 in order to change the school support declaration for the following year. Please contact Property Tax Clerk if you have any questions or concerns.

Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

April 7, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting
April 10, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Good Friday
April 13, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Easter Monday