Where There’s Room to Grow


Planning Documents

While planning for your development, subdivision, or redesignation projects, you may wish or need to refer to some existing documents. As well, depending on the size or complexity of your project, you may need to develop some of the below documents.

Regional Growth Management Strategy

The Regional Growth Management Strategy (RGMS) is similar to the MDP, but looks forward to 40 years. The RGMS explores growth, infrastructure, municipal services, economic, and environmental impacts. It examines where and how the County should grow; how growth will effect the natural environment; and what impact growth will have on infrastructure. Using this information, this document outlines how decisions regarding planning and development within Wheatland County will be made. Take a look at the RGMS here.

Intermunicipal Development Plans

Intermunicipal Depevlopment Plans (IDPs) are agreements between two or more municipalities, which outline how planning and development decisions will be made, where they affect both sides of the boundary lines. Wheatland County currently has three agreements in place, with the County of NewellVulcan County, and the Municipal District of Foothills No. 31.

Here is the the draft Newell / Wheatland IDP that will be going to Public Hearing on November 6, 2018. 

Municipal Development Plan

The Municipal Development Plan (MDP) is the primary land use planning and community development guiding document, and is required for all municipalities with a population of more than 3,500. The MDP sets the vision, sustainability principles, goals, and policies for Wheatland County. It guides many of Council’s major decisions, particularly those that will impact us for more than 20 years. The MDP can be viewed here.

Area Structure Plans

Area Structure Plans (ASPs) are documents that are approved by Council as bylaws. The documents are used by the County when evaluating planning or development applications within the specific areas. If your land is located in an area where there is an existing ASP, you will want to be familiar with the document. If your proposed project is large or complex, a new ASP may be required.

To review existing ASPs, click here.

Land Use Bylaw

The Land Use Bylaw is a statutory document that regulates the use and development of land within the County. If you are planning on any development, subdivision, or redesignation on your land within Wheatland County, you should be familiar with this document. Check it out here.

Area Concept Plans

Area Concept Plans are guidelines for the redesignation, subdivision and development of an area of land. You may be required to include one with your application, as they help to paint a picture of what the project will look like when completed.

Direct Control Districts

A Direct Control District provides a land use designation for parcels that, because of unique characteristics or innovative design, requires specific regulations unavailable in other land use districts. DCs have specific sets of rules and regulations that apply to the parcel of land designated to that DC District. In the case of discretionary uses in a DC, unless otherwise stated within a specific DC, Council is the authority on rendering a decision on those uses and variance requests.

To review existing Direct Control Districts, see here.






Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

December 18, 2018
9:00 AM -
Council Meeting
December 24, 2018
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
Christmas closure
January 8, 2019
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting