Where There’s Room to Grow


Environmental Awards

The Wheatland County Agricultural Service Board (ASB) is committed to strengthening, promoting, and supporting agriculture and the environment within our municipality with a view to continually improve how we operate in future years. The ASB develops and implements programs and policies that focus on the areas of weeds, pests, soil and water conservation, and environmental issues for the benefit of all residents.

The Wheatland County ASB presents the Environmental Stewardship Award as a way to recognize and reward notable efforts within the community to practice and promote environmental stewardship and innovation. Three Environmental Stewardship Awards are available per year in the following categories:

  • The Community Stewardship Award
    The Environmental Stewardship Award recognizes a Wheatland County community member or group that has made an outstanding contribution to environmental sustainability in the municipality. 
  • Youth Stewardship
    The Youth Stewardship Award was developed to recognize the importance of engaging youth in environmental stewardship initiatives, as the youth of today represent future generations of the Wheatland County community. 
  • J. Laslo Legacy Award
    The J. Laslo Legacy Award will be awarded to an agricultural producer in Wheatland County that has shown exemplary leadership in the implementation of beneficial management practices on their farm.

Now accepting 2019 nominations!

Environmental Stewardship Award Winners will receive an award certificate and $250 to support their initiatives. In addition, they will be recognized during an award ceremony at Wheatland County’s Annual General Meeting or other appropriate event and showcased through advertisement on Wheatland County’s website, social-media, and in local newspapers and newsletters. Names of winners will also be displayed on plaques at the County Administration Office.

Nominations are due by August 31.

2018 Award Winners

Reduced Carseland Award reduced Kaiser Award
 Carseland School were awarded the Youth Environmental Stewardship Award.  Kooter and Craig Kaiser were awarded the J. Laslo Legacy Environmental Stewardship Award.

2017 Award Winners

Clarks Recieving Award Skibsted Receiving Award
Roy and Karen Clark were awarded the Community Environmental Stewardship Award. Rick Skibsted was awarded the J. Laslo Legacy Environmental Stewardship Award.


env leaf

Check out these articles:

Environmental Policy

Environmental Program

Environmental Reports

Other Links

 The Alberta Water Act

Alberta Wetland Policy

Information about implementation of the policy

Policy Fact Sheet for Agriculture

Alberta Environment Protection and Enhancement Act

 To learn more about Agricultural Conservation, including Wheatland County's Wetland Inventory,see here

To Contact our Environmental Coordinator:
Email or 403-361-2007

Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

April 7, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting
April 10, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Good Friday
April 13, 2020
12:00 AM - 12:00 AM
STAT - Easter Monday