Where There’s Room to Grow


Building Permit

A building permit allows construction to proceed on condition of compliance with the Alberta Building Code. It deals with structural integrity and public safety.  

What is the difference between a development permit and a building permit? A development permit allows a specific type of development on a specific parcel of land in the community to proceed in conformance with the zoning and development bylaws of the County. A development permit may stipulate some of the following conditions: the allowed use of the property, intensity of that use, building height, building site coverage, setbacks from property lines and other buildings and parking requirements. Visit the development permits page for application packages.

A building permit allows construction of buildings or structure to proceed on condition of compliance with the Alberta Building Code which addresses building and fire safety. A building permit is required for the construction, alteration, repair, relocation, demolition, or change of use of a building. Farm buildings, accessory buildings, and non-hazardous accessory buildings under 100 square feet (10m2), are exempt.

The New Home Buyer Protection Act

Beginning December 1, 2017, all residential home builders will be required to have a licence in order to build new homes and obtain new building permits.

Builder licensing applies to the construction of new homes, including condominiums and major renovations that cover more than 75% of a home.

The New Home Buyers Protection Act ensures that every new home built in Alberta will be protected under warranty. Alberta’s New Home Buyers Protection Act encourages high standards, making sure your new home stands the test of time.

The onus is on the builders to have their information entered into the program prior to applying for building permits. Wheatland County cannot issue a building permit unless the warranty is in place.

Additional information can be found by phoning Municipal Affairs at 1-866-421-6929.

Information, Checklists, and Applications

You may need to apply for other safety code permits such as electrical, plumbing, gas, or private sewage - send us an email or call our office at 403-934-3321 to confirm.

Contact Us

Wheatland County
242006 Rg. Rd. 243 
Highway 1 RR 1
Strathmore, Alberta
T1P 1J6

Ph: (403) 934-3321
Fx: (403) 934-4889
Our Office Hours
Monday - Friday
8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m.

Upcoming Events

June 2, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting
June 9, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
MPC Meeting
June 16, 2020
9:00 AM - 4:30 PM
Council Meeting